Journey to Self-love – Days 1 – 3

This challenge and being more aware of taking care of myself has been really amazing so far. I’ve found more than anything else that my happiness levels have really been through the roof and I truly feel more positive having started this. It’s made me more creative and I’ve purposely had to come up with ideas of things to do and new ways of thinking that I maybe wouldn’t have come up with before.

Self-love is something we sorely lack in the western world and I believe that is in a big way due to our obsession with social media and celebrity. However, if you can educate yourself and become more self aware then I don’t think these areas need to be a problem. Take Instagram for example, I love it. I love getting creative and taking pictures, documenting my day and looking at other peoples creativity also but I know for a fact it isn’t like that for a lot of people. A lot of people constantly compare themselves to the people in the pictures and feel bad about themselves when really they should be paying more attention to their own life and what they want from this amazing world full of amazing things.

Anyway, here are my first three days documented by a picture, the blurb on the days challenge itself and my thoughts on it/what I did to achieve it. If you want to follow me in real time then catch me on instagram @shauna.bee
IMG-20170724-WA0002

Day 1. Start each day by telling yourself something positive.

So this morning I told myself that today was going to be a good day with good people and it was. Positive thoughts and talk is genuinely one of the most powerful things you can do for yourself.

It felt weird getting up and purposefully telling myself something, it felt almost fake but they say that the more you tell yourself something the more you start to believe it. As this week has went on I’m finding this to be so true. So try it, write down something positive the night before and stick it somewhere you will see it in the morning and read it to yourself.

IMG_20170725_192409_397

Day 2. Fill your body with food and drink that nourishes it and makes it thrive.

Absolutely NEED to get a grip on my diet and exercise again. Just been so busy finishing uni etc that it’s fell by the wayside. So this has been the perfect opportunity to get my head back in the game.
So tonight’s dinner has been a Buddha bowl. Filled with veggies, tuna and brown rice..so tasty 😊😊

Food is one of those things I’ve struggled with for a while. I have such a sweet tooth, its actually scary how much sugar I can pack away and I need to curb that addiction while I’m still young. I am 100% truly addicted to it. When it comes to takeout food or McDonalds I never eat it because of my dairy intolerance (yay and nay?) but also because I don’t really like it. Plus I love cooking. If I could give anyone one piece of advice it would be to learn to cook and teach your children to cook as well. People rely far too much on convenience food and it is utterly horrendous for our bodies and minds.

IMG_20170726_175536_675

Day 3. Move that gorgeous body of yours every single day and learn to love the skin you’re in. You can’t hate your way into loving yourself.

I decided to do some meditation and my first yoga sesh in two weeks (hands free yoga). Feels so good to get centred and focused mentally and physically.

My friends must be sick and tired of me going on about yoga but it is the best thing ever and everyone should do it. I need to do a post on yoga alone (let me know if you would like that) so for now I’ll keep it brief. I like most areas of fitness apart from HIIT because I have asthma and it feels like I’m dying but I still do it because I know it’s good for me. What I will say though is in order for exercise to benefit your self-love, it has to be something you enjoy. At least at first and then you can try other things. Find your sport and it will become easy to form a habit with it. That’s what yoga and strength training is for me and because I’ve become so much fitter from doing that I am branching out into running again (one of my nemesis’s due to the asthma).

You’ve got to keep trying and I promise you it will be so worth it. The confidence I’ve developed through exercise is immense and I hope beyond hope that I never fall out of love with it. It has to be a priority in your life and it should be because it allows you to do so many other things like see your children grow up, or keep illness at bay.

So that is my first three days of this self-love journey. Follow to see my next few later in the week.

Let me know about your own self-love journey’s in the comments below or send me a message, I’d love to hear from you.

Have a lovely day!!

Leave a Reply

